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SAGINAW COUNTY PROBATE COURT 

 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPOINTMENT OF LIMITED GUARDIAN OF A MINOR 

 
 

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 
 

COURT PERSONNEL CANNOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE OR HELP COMPLETE THE FORMS 
 
 
All forms must be typed or legibly printed.  Failure to comply with the instructions below 
will result in the Court rejecting your petition.   Should you be unable to understand 
or complete the forms as directed below, you should then contact an attorney for 
assistance. 
 
PUBLIC ACT 386 OF 1998, AS AMENDED BY PUBLIC ACT 52 OF 1999, COURT 
PERSONNEL SHALL NOT PROVIDE OR OFFER TO PROVIDE LEGAL ADVICE OR 
LEGAL COUNSEL TO A FIDUCIARY OR AN INTERESTED PERSON AND SHALL 
NOT COMPLETE A FORM, PETITION OR DOCUMENT FOR A FIDUCIARY OR 
INTERESTED PERSON. 
 

ALL DOCUMENTS WITH A * ON THEM MUST BE COPIED AND  
PRESENTED WITH ORIGINALS AT TIME OF FILING 

 
A. FILING PROCEDURE 
 

1. Present the completed forms which have been typed or printed legibly to the 
Clerk at the Probate Court, 111 S. Michigan, Room 204, Saginaw, MI 48602.  
We may be reached by phone at 989-790-5279. 

 
2. A hearing date and time will be set by the Clerk at the time of filing.  
3. A Guardian Ad Litem may be required.  

 
4.  It is the responsibility of the petitioner to serve the interested persons and file 

 the original with the Court. 
 
 
B. FEES 
 
The Court will accept: 

Cash, money orders, or personal checks (from individuals within the State of 
Michigan along w/ driver’s license & phone number) 

 
1. Petition to Appoint a Limited Guardian ...................................................... $175.00 
2. Letters of Limited Guardianship ............................................ $12.00/Certified Copy 

 
Other fees that may apply: 
 

3. Publication fee in a Legal News (when applicable) ............ $70.00 – approximately 
4. Guardian Ad Litem (GAL) fee (due prior to hearing ................................... $325.00 
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C. ORDER FOR APPOINMENT OF GUARDIAN AD LITEM/ATTORNEY (IF NEEDED) 
 

The Court may, by law, appoint a Guardian Ad Litem (GAL) to represent the interests of 
the minor unless the person has his/her own attorney. The Court must appoint a 
Guardian Ad Litem to represent a minor parent(s) unless the person has his/her own 
attorney. It will be the GAL's responsibility to visit the person, file a written report, and 
make a recommendation as to whether or not a limited guardian is needed; and file a 
proof of service with the court.  The GAL will generally call to make an appointment to 
visit. 
 
The GAL is not an employee of the Court but will most likely be a licensed practicing 
attorney assigned by the Court.  It is your responsibility to contact the GAL, discuss the 
fee and forward the paperwork to the GAL.  The petitioner is responsible to pay the 
GAL prior to the hearing date. 
 
 
D. NOTICE OF HEARING 
 
A hearing date will be set by the Clerk.  Your Notice of Hearing form shows the date, 
time, place, and assigned Judge.  You, the Petitioner, must attend the hearing or 
your petition will be dismissed; and you will have to begin the process again.  The 
minor may also attend the hearing unless the GAL is prepared to waive his/her 
presence in Court. 
 
 
E. PROOF OF SERVICE 
 
It is your responsibility to “serve” the parties with a copy of the petition and notice of 
hearing. If you do not complete service, your hearing will have to be adjourned. The 
Proof of Service form must be completed and returned to the Court at least two (2) 
days prior to the day of the hearing. 
 
The other interested parties must be served in one of the following manners: 
 

1. By personal service at least 7 days prior to the date of the hearing 
 

2. By first class mail at least 14 days prior to the hearing 
 

3. By publication at least 14 days prior to the date of the hearing if the address or 
whereabouts of interested persons are unknown - The legal newspaper fee is 
approximately $70, and due when forwarding your publication notice to a legal 
news. When publishing for unknown whereabouts, you will also be required to file 
a Declaration of Intent to Give Notice (one per unknown individual). 

 
The parties interested in a Petition for Appointment of a Limited Guardian of a Minor 
are: 
 

1. The minor, if 14 years of age or older. 
 
2. If known by the petitioner, each person who had the principal care and custody of 

the minor during the 63 days preceding the filing of the petition. 
 

3. The parents of the minor or, if neither of them is living, any grandparents and the 
adult presumptive heirs of the minor.  
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4. The nominated guardian. 
 

5. Person who files a request for notice pursuant to MCL 700.5104 (1) 
 

6. Special parties (Veterans Administration and Attorney General) 
 
If Veterans Administration (VA) benefits are payable to the minor, the VA is a party of 
interest. 
 
If there are no known presumptive heirs, the Attorney General (AG) is a party of 
interest. 
 
When the VA, or AG, are parties of interest on your petition, they must be served; either 
personally or by mail at: 
 
 Veterans Administration Attorney General, Public Administration 
 Patrick V. McNamara Bldg. P.O. Box 30213 
 477 Michigan Ave., Ste 1460 Lansing, MI 48909 
 Detroit, MI 48226 
 
 
F. ORDER, ACCEPTANCE, AND LETTERS 
 
All forms must be completed in advance of your arrival  
 
DO NOT CHECK ANY BOXES ON THE ORDER APPOINTING A GUARDIAN FORM. 
 
G. HEARING 
 
Your hearing date is a time certain, failure to appear for a scheduled hearing will result 
in your petition being dismissed and the loss of your filing fee.   
 
Prior to the hearing you must arrive fifteen minutes early in order to have the 
paperwork checked by the Probate Staff for accuracy and completeness 

     
Forms: 
 

• Records Check Release 
• PC650 Petition for Appointment of Limited Guardian of Minor * 
• PC652 Limited Guardian Placement Plan * 
• PC670 Minor Guardianship Social History 
• PC562 Notice of Hearing * 

• PC564 Proof of Service 

• PC653 Order Regarding Appointment of Guardian/Limited Guardian of a Minor 
• PC633 Letters of Guardianship   

 
 

ALL DOCUMENTS WITH A * ON THEM MUST BE COPIED AND  
PRESENTED WITH ORIGINALS AT TIME OF FILING 

https://www.saginawcounty.com/media/wn2nsi11/probate-records-check-release.pdf
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/pc650.pdf
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/pc652.pdf
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/pc670.pdf
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/pc562.pdf
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/pc564.pdf
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/pc653.pdf
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/pc633.pdf

